I’ve been a knitter for years. You know, the usual, scarfs, hats, clutches, and the occasional jacket. Nothing too exciting, other than the fact that I love it. I have been so scared to try felting. The thought of putting all that work into a project that may not turn out after felting freaks me out man. Yet finally I found a project to get me over the hump. A totally radical, punk, mohawk felted hat. I got the pattern from “Pretty in Punk” a book of knitted projects for the punk in all of us. I salute these hip knitters for putting out a book for us who love to knit, but are desperate for patterns that speak to our wild side. Untraditional flavor, put on traditional knitted items. This is by far their best. hence why it was put on the cover. You can also go to their website, www.knit-head.com to see a bunch of different styles and baby mohawk hats. I can’t wait to make one of these for my niece as she’s about to turn 1, and would be the perfect model. I just need to figure out size because shirkage occurs during the felting process. If you are planning on being in LA, you can pick one of the baby mohawks up at Fred Segal, so soon every celebrity child will be wearing one.

Me, Rockin my new Mohawk hat

Me, Rockin my new Mohawk hat

I know what your thinking. I look so cool in my hat. What I’m goin for is a hard core rocker who’s screaming into a microphone on stage as my adoring fans go nuts in the crowd at my sold out concert. You have to visualize with me. Then you will grow to understand that I’m totally a bad-ass mofo. Word.

 

 

 

 

God Save the Queen Hat

God Save the Queen Hat

