il_430xN.70041669il_430xN.73091870

Heather Ramsay is so talented, and her work is so high in quality that I am going to leave her story here for all to read.

My Purses, the Backstory: It started in a used bookstore. On the front of the rack of records was this old album by the T-Bones. The record was pretty beat up (really, what was it doing here? no good for a music collector) and I didn’t have a turntable, but the graphics were great and I bought it just to look at. The music’s in my head, anyway. I leaned it up on a shelf over my desk. I went about my business designing and making jewelry, always working to integrate recycled materials into that work. So I ask myself, occasionally at first, then later a few million times, what I could do with this beautiful old record jacket besides set it on a shelf or hang it on a wall? And what about all those others, sitting in dusty bins? Beauties by the not-so-famous, or cool jackets with scratched albums inside? Finally! Light bulb. I took the T-Bones down from the shelf and made myself a purse. Got some compliments. Then I made “Hello Dolly” and “West Side Story” for friends. Hmmm…maybe if I set my mind to it I could refine the details…(later came art prints, out of date calendars, game boxes, maps, and more.)finally, my own graphics were hatched, married to my purse designs, and the real fun began…

Heather also has amazing handmade jewelry in the shop for a limited time, so come on by and take a look. You can also see and buy her purses on etsy at ramsayart. Here’s the link;

http://www.etsy.com/view_listing.php?listing_id=24900648

il_430xN.70227965

