bread tags

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Lately, and probably always, I’ve been into art that seems overwhelming when you really look into the detail and almost manic obsession of the work, yet as a whole its familiar yet strange.  By way of one of one of my most visited blogs, Whimsical World of Laura Bird, I discovered Rachel Perry Welty. Her “Lost in my Life” series is incredible. Using thousands of the throw away items we use everyday, and creating art that has texture, complexity, and meaning.

She describes: “most of us don’t pay much attention to the mundane objects we use everyday, like the twist ties that hold the plastic wrap on our bread and the broccoli together or the little paper cups that we pull out of a water dispenser.”

Man, her place must be insane! Just imagine tupperware full of twisty ties, rubber-bands, and fruit stickers. I love it!

pricetags

